Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee


Ana Fred
Instituto de Telecomunicações and Instituto Superior Técnico (University of Lisbon)

Brief Bio
Ana Fred received the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical and Computer Engineering, in 1989 and 1994, respectively, both from Instituto Superior Técnico (IST), Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal. She is a Faculty Member of IST since 1986, where she has been a professor with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and more recently with the Department of Biomedical Engineering. She is a researcher at the Pattern and Image Analysis Group of the Instituto de Telecomunicações. Her main research areas are on pattern recognition, both structural and statistical approaches, with application to data mining, learning systems, behavioral biometrics, and biomedical applications. She has done pioneering work on clustering, namely on cluster ensemble approaches. Recent work on biosensors hardware (including BITalino – and ECG-based biometrics (Vitalidi project) have been object of several nacional and internacional awards, as well as wide dissemination on international media, constituting a success story of knowledge transfer from research to market. She has published over 160 papers in international refereed conferences, peer reviewed journals, and book chapters. ... More >>

Carlo Sansone
Dipartimento di Ingegneria Elettrica e delle Tecnologie dell'Informazione, University of Naples Federico II

Brief Bio
Carlo Sansone is currently Full Professor of Computer Engineering at the Dipartimento di Ingegneria Elettrica e Tecnologie dell’Informazione of the University of Naples Federico II. His basic interests cover the areas of image analysis, pattern recognition and machine and deep learning. From an applicative point of view, his main contributions were in the fields of biomedical image analysis, biometrics, intrusion detection in computer networks and image forensics. He coordinated several projects in the areas of artificial intelligence, biomedical images interpretation and network intrusion detection. Prof. Sansone is a member of the IEEE and of the International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR). In 2012 he was elected Vice-President of the GIRPR (the Italian Association affiliated to the IAPR) for two terms (four years). ... More >>


Enrico Blanzieri, University of Trento, Italy
Marco Buzzelli, Dipartimento di Informatica, Sistemistica e Comunicazione, University of Milano - Bicocca, Italy
Claudio Cusano, Dep. of Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering, University of Pavia, Italy
Shyam Diwakar, Amrita Mind Brain Center, Amrita University, India
Ke-Lin Du, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Concordia University Montréal, Canada
Gilles B. Guillot, Data Science, CSL Behring / Swiss Institute for Translational and Entrepreneurial Medicine, Switzerland
Chih-Chin Lai, National University Kaohsiung, Taiwan, Republic of China
Chang-Hsing Lee, Bachelor Program in Industrial Artificial Intelligence, Ming Chi University of Technology, Taiwan, Republic of China
Marco Leo, National Research Council of Italy, Italy
Yung-Hui Li, National Central University, Taiwan, Republic of China
Xingyu Li, Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Alberta, Canada
Fuhai Li, Institute for informatics, Washington University Saint Louis, United States
Huaqing Li, College of Electronic and Information Engineering, Southwest University, China
Perry D. Moerland, Bioinformatics Laboratory, Amsterdam UMC, University Amsterdam, Netherlands
Tomoyuki Naito, Osaka University, Japan
Le-Minh Nguyen, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
Juan J. Pantrigo, Ciencias de la Computación, Arquitectura de Computadores, Lenguajes y Sistemas Informáticos y Estadística e Investigación Operativa, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
Oksana Pomorova, Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, Department of Mathematical Analysis and Control Theory, University of Lodz, Poland
Mircea-Bogdan Radac, Department of Automation and Applied Informatics, Politehnica University of Timisoara, Romania
Sivaramakrishnan Rajaraman, National Library of Medicine, United States
Jitae Shin, School of Electronic and Electrical Eng., Sungkyunkwan University, Korea, Republic of
Sunghwan Sohn, Health Sciences Research, Mayo Clinic, United States
Minghe Sun, Management Science and Statistics, University Texas San Antonio, United States
Ryszard Tadeusiewicz, Department Of Automatics and Biomedical Engineering, AGH University Science Technology, Poland
Jayaraman Valadi, Center for Informatics, Shiv Nadar University, India
Aalt van Dijk, Wageningen University Research Centre, Netherlands
Theodore Willke, Intel Labs, Intel Corporation, United States
Jianhua Xuan, Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Virginia Tech, United States
Seokwon Yeom, Daegu University, Korea, Republic of
Yizhou Yu, Department of Computer Science, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

(list not yet complete)